2016 MLS All-Star team announced

All star game
The 26-man Major League Soccer All-Star team to face Arsenal on July 29 has been announced, with some big names leading the side from the States.

Didier Drogba, Kaka, Andrea Pirlo, David Villa and 2015 MLS MVP Sebastian Giovinco headline the star-studded squad, although Steven Gerrard, Robbie Keane and Frank Lampard will not be lining up against their former Premier League opponents.

The meeting will take place at the Avaya Stadium in San Jose, California – the first time an All-Star game has been hosted in the state – with Earthquakes manager Dominic Kinnear taking charge of the team.

MLS commissioner Don Garber selected FC Dallas’ Mauro Diaz and the popular Kyle Beckerman as his two selections, while Kinnear chose to include the likes of Clint Dempsey, Jermaine Jones and Cyle Larin, all of whom had not made the MLS All-Star Fan XI.

The All-Stars have enjoyed a good record in this calendar-marked fixture in recent times, beating Tottenham Hotspur and Bayern Munich 2-1 in the last two years and have won in three of their last four games, with Serie A team Roma the only side to beat them since 2011.

Full MLS All-Star roster against Arsenal:

Goalkeepers (2): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders (8): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Midfielders (9): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Kaka (Orlando City SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

Forwards (7): Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), David Villa (New York City FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

About the Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *